Take action against 4 officials over Nayapaltan incident: BNP

BNP on Tuesday asked the Election Commission to take punitive action against four government officials, including its secretary and the Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) commissioner, over the recent Nayapaltan incident.

It made the demand in a letter, signed by its secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, sent to Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda.

A BNP delegation, led by joint secretary general Moazzem Hossain Alal, handed over the letter to EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed on Tuesday noon.

BNP alleged that the four officials instigated the Nayapaltan incident and the matters related to the filing of false cases against BNP leaders and activists.

The two other officials are EC joint secretary Farhad Ahammad Khan and the DMP Deputy Police Commissioner concerned.

The EC joint secretary signed an EC letter sent to the Inspector General of Police on November 13 asking him to enforce the electoral code of conduct.

The EC issued the directives a day after the end of

Source link

Some local news is curated - Original might have been posted at a different date/ time! Click the source link for details.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.